NYF Celebrates Outstanding Radio from Around the Globe

On June 19th, New York Festivals® International Radio Program Awards hosted the annual awards Gala at New York City’s Manhattan Penthouse.  Radio royalty from around the  globe gathered to celebrate the World’s Best Radio Programs℠ selected by the Grand Jury from entries submitted from 32 countries.

The evening kicked off with a cocktail reception  with some of the world’s most recognizable voices and captivating programming producers in the industry mingling with new friends and familiar faces followed by a seated dinner/awards presentation.

Prominent award-winning radio industry executives honored winners and presented award segments:  Mark Travis, New York Philharmonic USA; Joe Richman, Sarah Kate Kramer, Nellie Gilles, Ben Shapiro, Radio Diaries USA; Tim Desmond, RTÉ Radio 1 Ireland; Jennie Cataldo, BMP Audio USA; Sean Brocklehurst, Albert Leung, and Eric Van, CBC Radio One Canada; Jon Tjhia and Sophie Black, The Wheeler Centre Australia and Michael Green, Behind the Wire Australia and Clea Chang, Intelligence Squared USA.

Peter Woods, Current Affairs Editor accepting Broadcaster of the Year Award for RTE Ireland

The Grand Jury honored RTÉ Ireland with the prestigious title of Broadcaster of Year and TBI Media UK with Production Company of the Year.

RTÉ Radio Ireland was in the spotlight taking home the renowned Broadcaster of the Year Award for their illustrious achievements; this is the fourth time that RTÉ has been honored with this title. The network earned an impressive 10 Gold trophies, 8 Silver, 10 Bronze, and 12 Finalist Certificates.

TBI Media United Kingdom was in the winner’s circle earning the title of Production Company of the Year Award.

Phil Critchlow, CEO of TBI Media UK - Broadcaster of the Year

Three global companies earned the coveted Grand Award:

TBI Media United Kingdom, for for “World Cup ’66” for BBC Radio 2 & BBC Radio 5 live for their complex musical undertaking featured, a composed filmic soundtrack, played by 22 musicians throughout the 2 hour and 40 minute production.

DMC Studio Argentina, for “Blackout,” the compelling story of a blind person who describes a day of his life through sounds in Buenos Aires Argentina.

Diego Cannizzaro, DMC Studio Argentina Grand Award

Behind the Wire and The Wheeler Centre Australia for “The Messenger” for their ten-part podcast series based on thousands of voice messages sent via burner phone by Abdul Aziz Muhamat, a refugee detained on the Australian-run detention center on the Manus Island, Papua New Guinea to journalist, Michael Green.

The New York Philharmonic was in the winner’s circle. “Zubin Mehta at 80” was honored with a Gold trophy for Music and a Bronze for Best Director. “Celebrating the 175th Anniversary Season” earned the Gold for Best Director and a Bronze for Best Music Special.  “The New York Philharmonic This Week” was recognized with a Silver trophy for Best Regularly Scheduled Music Program. Mark Travis, Associate Director of Media for the New York Philharmonic took home the Gold for Best Director.

L to R: Mark Travis, Amy Travis, Hilaria Baldwin, and Alec Baldwin, Radio Host of the New York Philharmonic "This Week"

For a complete list of all the 2017 award-winning entries please visit: http://www.newyorkfestivals.com/worldsbestradio/2017/






This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four * 1 =