NYF’s Lifetime Achievement Award Honors Contributions of the Best in the TV & Film Industry

New York Festivals® International Television & Film Awards  Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes prominent industry leaders whose accomplishments and contributions have advanced their field and made a lasting impression on the industry. Since NYF’s inaugural Lifetime Achievement in 2011, the competition has honored the industry’s most respected executives. From legendary documentary filmmaker Albert Maysles to the 2017 recipient Tony Petitti, Chief Operating Officer of Major League Baseball, NYF’s Lifetime Achievement Award is a tribute to a career whose hallmarks include not only achievements within their field, but also for their positive influence on the colleagues whose lives they have touched through their leadership.

The Lifetime Achievement Award presentation is the high-point of the annual awards ceremony where award-winners from prominent networks and production companies celebrate the world’s most compelling stories being created by content creators from around the globe. The 2017 recipient will be honored at the Awards Gala held on April 25 at the annual NAB Show. This year’s recipient’s achievements will be an inspiration for the thousands of creative industry professionals and press who will attend NAB.

Whether they are involved in the creation process, writing, producing or directing news, sports or entertainment programming, or inventing innovative ways to engage viewers through break-through engineering and technical advances, their commitment to creating extraordinary content across all genres and platforms is inspirational.

NYF salutes the impressive roster of iconic industry pros earning the Lifetime Achievement Award:

2017 – Tony Petitti, Chief Operating Officer of Major League Baseball. Petitti served as President & Chief Executive Officer of MLB Network (MLBN), where he oversaw all day-to-day operations, until formally joining the Office of the Commissioner in 2014. The record-setting launch of MLBN, which debuted on January 1, 2009 in 50 million cable and satellite homes, marked the largest in cable television history. Today, MLB Network is widely distributed in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico. He also served as Executive Vice President and Executive Producer for CBS Sports, Senior Vice President, Negotiations for NBC Sports and as Vice President, Programming for ABC Sports.

2016 – David Hill, Legendary veteran sports executive, live event specialist and Father of FOX Sports. He also served as Senior Executive Vice President of 21st Century Fox, chairman of National Geographic Channels, was an executive producer at Fox for “American Idol” for the iconic show’s final three seasons and produced the 88th Academy Awards telecast. The consummate innovator, Mr. Hill influenced the medium via expanded use of technology to enhance the at-home experience for sports television viewers.

2015 – Ken Aagaard, EVP, Innovation and New Technology for CBS Sports. With a media career spanning over four decades, including 18 Super Bowls, five World Series, and three Olympics, Aagaard is one of sports television’s most respected broadcast executives. Mr. Aagaard introduced multiple critically acclaimed technical achievements including EyeVision, a new technology showing replays in 3-D introduced at Super Bowl XXXV, and Swing Vision, a super-slow motion breakdown for replaying golf swings. Past chairman of Sports Video Group, Aagaard chairs the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame and the SVG Broadcasting Fund.

2014 – David Mazza, Senior Vice President and CTO, NBC Sports Group. Mazza’s technical work has spanned the worlds of sports, entertainment, and news. His Olympic career has spanned over 20 years with the Rio Olympics marking his 14thOlympic Games. Projects undertaken during his four decade career includes multiple Championships at Wimbledon; numerous Super Bowls; multiple seasons of Championship Boxing on HBO and seasons of NHL’s Stanley Cup Playoffs and Finals; and the first three MTV Video Music Awards, and a long list of others. He and his team were instrumental in the building of NBC Sports Group’s headquarters: a state-of-the-art International Broadcast Center.

2013 – Susan Zirinsky, Senior Executive Producer of the CBS News broadcast 48 HOURS. In addition to her work on 48 HOURS, now in its 29th full season, Zirinsky routinely is the Senior Executive Producer of breaking news specials events for CBS News. Her extensive journalism career at CBS News has provided her with a front seat to some of the iconic moments in TV news history. Zirinsky was also the executive producer of CBS News’ historic and award-winning “9/11” broadcast

2012 – Geoffrey Mason, One of sports television’s most accomplished executives; he has more than 40 years of domestic and international production experience, including seven Olympic Games, six World Cups, and multiple America’s Cup races. Mason has worked for ABC, NBC, Fox, ESPN, and NFL Network over five decades in the business, mentoring hundreds of co-workers along the way. Mason has served as head of production planning for UEFA EUROs and FIFA World Cup soccer.

2011 – Albert Maysles, Legendary documentary filmmaker Albert Maysles received NYF’s inaugural Television & Film Lifetime Achievement Award. Called “the greatest American cameraman” by Jean-Luc Godard, Albert, along with his brother David (1932-1987), is recognized as a pioneer of direct cinema. His unsurpassed body of work totals more than 40 films, including: Gimme Shelter, chronicling the Rolling Stones epic 1969 tour; Grey Gardens, the intimate portrait of East Hampton recluses Edith Bouvier Beale and her daughter “Little Edie”; and Muhammad and Larry.

To view the 2017 TV & Film Awards Finalists please visit: HERE.

David Hill 2016 Lifetime Award Recipient

Join NYF on April 25th, 2017 to celebrate this year’s Lifetime Award Recipient, Tony Petitti and the 2017 award winners.  Winning entries will be announced at the Television & Film Awards gala. Award-winning entries will be showcased on the NYF Television & Film Awards website. To View the 2016 TV & Film Awards Recap Video please visit: HERE.

For more information on New York Festivals Television & Film Awards competition please visit the website www.newyorkfestivals.com/tvfilm/.

Production Hub  is the official media sponsor of the 2017 TV & Film Awards.

Press inquiries are welcome and should be directed to Gayle Mandel: gmandel@newyorkfestivals.com, Ph: 1 212 643 4800.


This entry was posted in news and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *