Tony Petitti

Lifetime Achievement

Tony Petitti’s career path is the definition of excellence and for almost three decades he has been a top figure in the world of sports television serving in numerous leadership positions at major networks. He was appointed Chief Operating Officer of Major League Baseball by Commissioner Robert D. Manfred, Jr. on December 4, 2014, and as COO he oversees broadcasting, marketing, youth programs, scheduling, special events, international and other strategic endeavors aimed at growing the game.

Commissioner Manfred said: "Since 2008, Tony has been an outstanding executive within the Major League Baseball family and also one of our most respected individuals. He accomplished so much in sports television and we are fortunate to now have his leadership and creativity as our COO. All of us at MLB congratulate Tony on this prestigious honor."

Prior to joining the Office of the Commissioner, Mr. Petitti was President & Chief Executive Officer of MLB Network (MLBN), where he oversaw all day-to-day operations. The record-setting launch of MLBN, which debuted on January 1, 2009 in 50 million cable and satellite homes, marked the largest in cable television history. Today, MLB Network is widely distributed in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico.

Mr. Petitti has held a series of leadership positions at CBS Sports before joining the MLB Network. Previously he held the position of Executive Vice President and Executive Producer for CBS Sports, where he oversaw all daily operations, including production, personnel and editorial content. Petitti originally joined CBS Sports in February 1997 as Senior Vice President, Business Affairs and Programming. During his tenure he played a key role in negotiating contracts for continued coverage of the PGA Tour and the network's return to the NFL. Mr. Prior to joining CBS Sports, Mr. Petitti a served as Senior Vice President, Negotiations for NBC Sports.

Starting his broadcast television career with ABC in 1988 as Vice President, Programming for ABC Sports where he was responsible for the acquisition of college football regular season and bowl games, college basketball, the Little League World Series and NASCAR events. He is credited for creating the Bowl Championship Series to determine college football's national champion.

Albert Maysles 2011
Geoffrey Mason 2012
Susan Zirinsky 2013
David Mazza 2014
Ken Aagaard 2015
David Hill 2016

NEW YORK FESTIVALS WORLD’S BEST TV & FILMS℠, 260 WEST 39TH ST,10 FL, NY NY10018 USA | TEL: +1 (212) 643 4800